Brothers Grimm (2005) B/B+

Mirror Mirror of the wall who is the fairest of them all

It seems that out of all the evil queens in fairy tales the movie industry is fixated in the most evil of them all. As I wait for the latest version (Snow White and the Huntsman) I started to recall the numerous evil queens we have had recently. Out of the top of my head:

1. Mirror, Mirror with Julia Roberts (last March)

2. Once Upon a Time (TV series, this last season)

3. The Brothers Grimm (2005)

Just because, I will start with the last of these three and work my way up Smile

clip_image001Will and Jake Grim travel around French-occupied Germany during the late 18th century and make their living as con-artist who liberate towns of witches and ghosts. The two brothers and their entourage enjoy their money and their fame until Napoleon man arrest them and commands the two brothers to look of the lost children.

Thought at the beginning it looks like a comedy the movie turns more and more dramatic, at some points it even seems a bit horrific. However, I have so say that in some occasions the comedy cut the drama in quite an unpleasant way turning it into a bit of a mockery that does not really fit.

I also was under the impression that the director, creative team or whoever might have been in charge tried to add too many references, comedy, drama, love story, scary moments which made the film none of the above.  So, what is it, really?

If I had to choose a moment, I have to say that the special effects towards the end of the movie are quite good. The way the mirror and the evil queen shatter into pieces is just astonishing! Without any doubt, my favorite moment!

All in all, I enjoyed the movie very much, and I really really loved the references and possible criticism to the French occupation ( more of this in another occasion, I am trying not to be too much of a “minera”).

Till the next mirror…

One thought on “Brothers Grimm (2005) B/B+

Leave a Reply

